^ Home ^  Club Info  Unit Races
Upcoming Events  Board Info Tourn. Results


Unit 194 Member Achievements


Karl Hicks


Karl Hicks has directed Maritime tournaments for over 45 years and has gone above and beyond his duties to ensure that the tournaments in the Maritimes run smoothly and professionally.

For us ‘Maritimers’ we were fortunate to have as our own director such a true “Bridge Gentleman”, a billboard for bridge ethics and someone who showed by example that treating all players at the table  with courtesy and respect  increases everyone’s overall enjoyment of the game.

Knowing that a professional, competent and fair director is coming to the table when a director has been called to make a ruling creates a comfortable environment for all players regardless of their skill levels.  For this reason, the attendance at OUR Sectionals has been increased in the last several years.

In 1991 Karl was the  recipient of the ACBL Fred Friendly  award which is presented by the Professional Tournament Directors  Association to the Tournament Director who best exemplifies the spirit exhibited by the late Paul Stehley, know as Fred Friendly for his dedication to making tournaments fun for players.

Karl was an incredible advocate for bridge in Cape Breton as he was president and club manager as well as director of his local bridge club in Cape Breton for many years.  He has tirelessly encouraged new players to move forward into competitive bridge at the tournament level as well.

Karl has been editor of the “Maritime Bridge Line” for the past 20 years, a volunteer position that produces three news magazines each year containing local bridge information on tournaments and results as well as players’ achievements and milestones.

As for his own bridge achievements Karl is an ACBL diamond life master, and an active competitive player winning the Bruce Pairs (0-5000) and the Mini-Spingold Knock-out Teams (0-5000) in Nashville in 2007.  As well as the 2016 Canadian Bridge Federation online team championships.

Karl is a very deserving recipient of the Cukoff, LaTaverse, Wiser Award members of both Units 194 & 230 congratulate Karl Hicks.